Women In League

Women in League

There are many avenues women and young girls can take to be involved in the game and I can’t wait for it to continue to grow as more information and avenues become available for women to participate in the game professionally.

So far women can become involved in the fantastic work that the NRL clubs Cheerleaders/Club Ambassadors or they can play the game in the NRL Women’s Premiership.

Currently the Cowboys announced on 10 September 2019 that they were opening their Women’s Academy; which in 2020 will help provide a pathway for females in North Queensland to play rugby league at the elite level. The Cowboys hope to have a team in the current NRL Women’s League.


Women’s NRL Premiership 

The NRL Women’s Premiership was launched in 2018. There are currently 4 teams; Brisbane Broncos, St George Illawarra Dragons, Sydney Rooster and New Zealand Warriors. 

The NRL plan to expand the game with more teams in the future.

To play in the Women’s Premiership you must be a minimum of 17 years old to be eligible to be give one of the coveted 40 contracts spots.

There are only a few minor difference in the rules that the women play under. They are:

• The matches are 60 minutes long instead of 80 minutes.

• Each half is 30 minutes instead of 40 minutes.

• There are 10 interchanges available.

• In Golden Point the teams have an additional 2 interchanges available to them.

• A 40/30 is awarded instead of the 40/20.

The current Premiership Winner is the Brisbane Broncos; which is their second winning title.



More info coming soon…

Below is a list of the cheerleading squads for each NRL team:

Brisbane Broncos: Broncos Dance Squad

Canberra Raiders: No cheerleaders

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs: Sapphires

Cronulla Sharks: Mermaids

Gold Coast Titans: Sirens

Manly Sea Eagles: Seabirds

Melbourne Storm: No cheerleaders; have a dance crew

Newcastle Knights: NKC

NQ Cowboys: NQ Spirit

NZ Warriors: SkyCity Dancers (contract squad)

Parramatta Eels: PEC

Penrith Panthers: Pantherettes

South Sydney Rabbitohs: No cheerleaders

St George Illawarra Dragons: Flames

Sydney Roosters: The Roosters Girls

Wests Tigers: Wests Tigers Dancers